Family Services

Foster Care
A resource for foster parents and the community


Welcome! This web site provides information and resources for foster parents and community members on foster care and parenting.

Foster parents are people in the community that open their homes to children in need of a safe place to live. Children stay in a foster home until their own home is safe or the Department of Health and Social Services can find them a permanent home.

Foster parents play an important role in helping children become mature, responsible, and productive by offering safe homes, understanding and support.

Our Parenting Information section offers you a variety of resources to support you in your parenting role. It contains PDF resources, useful internet links and suggested books for adults and children that are available in your community. Topics include information on various childhood and youth issues, parenting techniques, as well as some fun activities to do with your children.

Contact Information

For help and information, contact the Community Social Services Worker in your community.



**A special thank you to Meeka Arnakaq, from Pangnirtung, for allowing the Department to use her drawings throughout the Foster Care website. **



Disclaimer

This website is provided as a general resource for foster parents, care providers and community members. It is not meant to offer advice on individual situations. If you have questions or concerns about your individual situation please contact your Community Social Service Worker. If you feel you are at risk or in immediate danger, or there is risk to others, please contact the RCMP or your community medical clinic.

If you know of a child in need of protection, it is your duty to report this to the police. Contact your local RCMP, Social Services office, or tell a teacher, nurse or social worker.
If you are a child being abused or neglected, do not keep it a secret. Tell a teacher, relative, nurse, social worker or any other adult you can trust.
In an emergency, call your local RCMP detachment. If there are children in the home, the RCMP will contact the social worker. You may also go to your local shelter, if available.
Nunavut currently has Family Violence Shelters in the following communities: Cambridge Bay; Iqaluit; Kugluktuk; and Rankin Inlet. Referrals to these shelters can be made by your local social worker, RCMP, or by visiting the shelter in person.


**Thank you for visiting the Foster Parent website. We understand and are mindful of the fact that the information must be presented clearly in all four official languages – Inuktitut, English, Inuinnaqtun and French. However, as we develop this website there may be times when new website text or resources are not available in all languages right away. Please be assured that the translation is underway and other languages will be on the website as soon as they are available.
We thank you for your patience.

Services à la famille

Placement en famille d’accueil
Une ressource pour les parents de famille d’accueil et la communauté


Bienvenue! Ce site Web présente de l’information et des ressources sur les soins en famille d’accueil et le rôle parental à l’intention des parents de familles d’accueil et des membres de la communauté.

Les parents de familles d’accueil sont des membres de la communauté qui ouvrent leur maison à des enfants qui ont besoin d’un lieu sûr où vivre. Les enfants habitent dans les familles d’accueil jusqu’à ce que leur propre maison parentale soit sécuritaire ou jusqu’à ce que le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux leur trouve un lieu de résidence permanent.

Les parents de familles d’accueil jouent un rôle important en aidant les enfants à devenir matures, responsables et productifs, en leur offrant un foyer sécuritaire, de la compréhension et du soutien.

Notre rubrique Information sur le rôle parental vous offre diverses ressources pour vous appuyer dans votre rôle parental. Elle contient des documents PDF, des liens Internet utiles et des livres suggérés pour les adultes et les enfants et qui sont disponibles dans votre communauté. Les sujets comprennent de l’information sur divers problèmes propres à l’enfance et à l’adolescence, ainsi que des activités divertissantes auxquelles vous pourrez vous livrer avec vos enfants.

**A special thank you to Meeka Arnakaq, from Pangnirtung, for allowing the Department to use her drawings throughout the Foster Care website. **



désistement

Ce site Web est fourni à titre de ressource générale pour les parents de familles d’accueil, fournisseurs de soins et membres de la communauté. Il n’est pas destiné à offrir des conseils sur les situations individuelles. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupation à propos de votre situation individuelle, veuillez communiquer avec votre travailleur en services sociaux communautaires. Si vous estimez être à risque ou en danger immédiat, ou si d’autres personnes sont à risque, veuillez communiquer avec la GRC ou avec votre clinique médicale communautaire.


Si vous connaissez un enfant qui a besoin de protection, vous avez le devoir d’en faire rapport à la police. Communiquez avec votre bureau local de la GRC, des Services sociaux, ou faites-en part à un enseignant, à une infirmière ou à un travailleur social.
Si vous êtes un enfant maltraité ou négligé, n’en gardez pas le secret. Parlez-en à un enseignant, à un proche, à une infirmière, à un travailleur social ou à tout adulte en qui vous pouvez avoir confiance.
En cas d’urgence, appelez votre détachement local de la GRC. S’il y a des enfants à la maison, la GRC communiquera avec le travailleur social. Vous pouvez également vous rendre à un refuge local, s’il en existe un.
Actuellement, au Nunavut, on trouve des refuges pour les victimes de violence familale dans les communautés suivantes : Cambridge Bay; Iqaluit; Kugluktuk; et Rankin Inlet. Votre référence à un de ces refuges peut-être faite par votre travailleur social, la GRCou, vous pouvez vous rendre en personne au refuge.


**Merci de votre visite au site Placement en famille d’accueil d’une ressource pour les parents de famille d’accueil et la communauté. Nous savons et sommes conscients que l’information doit être présentée clairement dans les quatre langues officielles, inuktitut, anglais, inuinnaqtun et français. Il se peut toutefois qu’à certains moments de nouveaux textes ou de nouvelles ressources ne soient pas immédiatement disponibles dans toutes les langues. Soyez assurés que la traduction est en cours et que nous afficherons les autres langues dès que possible.
Nous vous remercions de votre patience.